Three Days.

You said you just wanted to feel something real. You came to me, because you wanted to feel something real. But I wasn’t there. I wasn’t in town when you came to me. I was nowhere to be found when you finally came to me. You walked on home. In the early morning you walked to your home instead of mine. It was such a beautiful morning. I was awake. I knew of you, but I was not there on that beautiful morning where you declared your interest in me. I was not there when you saw me in new light, and even though you said you also saw a new you, that new you was gone by the time I got here.

I wanted you. You wanted me as well. You wanted me to give you warmth. It was a beautiful morning, but cold, and you had been out all night. And you wanted me. You wanted me, and you wanted me to give you warmth. And I wanted you.

You said you wake up at night with your heart beating hard. You said it wasn’t just some sudden impulse that would leave you as soon as it came. You said you were looking for love. You said you were looking for me. I think you said you were looking for me to love you.

Once I finally came, you weren’t looking for me anymore. Once I came with my open arms; heart; life, you weren’t looking for me no more.

Now you regret. You regret toying with my emotions; my hopeless heart. You regret putting our friendship in jeopardy. You regret that you ever asked me if I liked you.

And I’m left here standing
only regretting that I wasn’t
there when you were looking for me.

I’m left here standing
loving you as ever.

Leave a Reply

