Let’s play pretend.

It just dawned on me how much time I actually spend pretending. Make-believe is such a big part of my life, but I never really thought of it like that. I thought of it as… I don’t know, something else. But I guess this is the part of me that’s still very much a child. This is where my inspiration goes to, and comes from.

As soon as I thought of this, I thought of the wonderful film Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium, which is all filled up with pretending. I’ve always loved that place when Eric finally gets the Mutant to loosen up and play pretend with Eric and his hat collection. And I’m thrilled that I still play pretend – a thing I have been missing in my life, especially lately. Now I see that I still do it, just not in the running around, thinking this stick is something besides a stick. I do it in a more… word-y way, shall we say? Whenever I’m alone, sitting down and drinking or eating something, I start talking, and mostly it’s not to myself, well, it is with myself, but I’m talking to someone else.

I guess most people do this in some way or other, having made-up conversations. I used to have them with you all the time. I still do from time to time, but now I’ve branched out to world leaders as well. I’ve dropped the exclusiveness for availability and an inkling to the center of power.

I’ll probably speak more about this at some other time. I just wanted to quickly jot it down while it was in my head. I hope some of you, whoever you are who read my blog, play pretend once in a while as well. Either fully knowing or slightly subconsciously like me.

Leave a Reply

