When to go loud; when to go silent.

Life quickly splits up into very different things once you get started on something. Philosophy takes a lot of my time. My new friends take a lot of my time. My old friends take a lot of my time. My family takes a lot of my time. Music takes a lot of my time. Our constant arguments take a lot of my thinking power.

There’s so much to do, so much to see. It’s as if everything is suddenly moving again, after staying pretty much still for the last 2-3 years. I can feel it wearing me down, but in a good way. Good tired. And also a little drunk. It’s amazing how much effect a single 5.7 % bottle can have on you, when you’re completely malnourished after a longer-than-expected day. It’s a good buzz, though. The kind of buzz where you just gain energy, become more productive. Though my productivity lies in writing. I tried reading, but couldn’t concentrate one bit. Things just didn’t move fast enough for my buzz brain.

Rikke is going to California in… less than 38 hours. I’m really gonna miss her. She has become one of my truest friends over the last year. And really close over the last months. She was really glad for the present I gave her at her birthday/going-away party, my copy of On The Road, wrapped to look like a real present. She loved that. That’s probably a good indication of who you should try hard to keep as your closest friends; the ones you really want to make happy. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so good about making anyone happy as I did right then. And it came so naturally. I’ve been working on a birthday gift for you for more than two years that just isn’t coming together. This, it came to me right away and seems like it was the perfect gift. I’m just more attentive around Rikke than anyone else.

Fifty words on the new Mazzy Star record:

Amazing feel for when to go loud; when to go silent. 17 years has only enhanced their abilities as musicians and recording artists. A lot of great steel-guitar. Sandoval sings better than ever. Breezy without ever being boring. Dirty sound shows why they’re still relevant now Beach House is around. Buy.

Just let me change
let me change for tonight
for tonight so I might see
see what we could be.

Won’t you let me come in
inside your darkest dream
dreaming for all eternity
eternities shared between.

However far we might go
might we go to the end
the end of old times
old times soon will be.

Just let me change
let me change for tonight
for tonight so I might see
see what we could be.

Leave a Reply

