Obnoxious argument lover.

One of the first things that was said to us in the introduction days to philosophy, was that we would soon find ourselves in our own little bubble; protected from the outside world/the outside world protected from us. It would happen because our minds would quickly adjust to thinking in a new, more argument-based way.

I didn’t think much of it the first day – I might even have thought it to sound silly – but already I can feel the effects, even though we haven’t really started yet. It’s obvious my mind is already trying to dissect other people’s arguments, finding logical reasons for things and generally I just find myself talking more about meta-stuff.

We were told people around us (family, old friends) would find it weird at first and slowly grow tired of us. It sounded so surrealistic, but I now see what was meant by it. There just isn’t room enough for such different mindsets. We will be trained in argumentation and rhetorics almost as if it were martial arts. People who are not interested in this will quickly turn away. So, it will probably just be us in the philosophy class talking together in a few months.

I really hope I will be able to develop an on/off button, so I can still talk normally with friends and family, but I’m afraid it won’t be so. Both because of my own gut feeling, as well as the stories from the older students.

At the party yesterday, my tutor told me he expected a lot of people in relationships to be single by Christmas, simply because their current relationships wouldn’t be able to endure the changes that will happen. The changes, he says, are so fundamental to the person you are/the person you are becoming, that you can’t just leave your rhetoric in the classroom. It will become a part of you, and you will talk in philosophical ways whether or not you want to in a given situation.

I guess there isn’t really too much to do but wait and see where this takes me. I’m not all that afraid of what will happen if I do become exactly what is expected, but I would like to be able to control it. I think it lies more in the individual – as I’ve always said – to make him/herself into the person he/her wants to be. There’s always room for change.

Leave a Reply

