I can see you at times.

These green trees remind me it’s
Summertime and remind me to be
happy even though the sky is not
even though the birds seek refuge
and even when I see nothing,
I can see you at times

My lazy dog is more energized
than I have been for a year
lying down held captive by my
thoughts of fog and thunder
memories of sweet Spring days,
I can see you at times

Trains taking me nowhere in
particular but away from here
finding new paths in a world
all too worn out by ancestors
walking hand in hand as ever,
I can see you at times

In the dark of night under covers
slow waves of music through
room that has seen it all
walls tell stories of what once was
even now blinded by sounds,
I can see you at times

Leave a Reply

