No tomorrow.

I often lay awake at night, hoping that if I don’t fall asleep there won’t come another meaningless day. But it never works. If only there was something else to wake up to than school, I wouldn’t have these thoughts, but it’s just so tiring from time to time. I have to attend a meeting tomorrow concerning my lack of handed-in assignments. It’s the second talk in 4 months. Though I’m only 3 or 4 months away from graduating, it wouldn’t bother me if they threw me out. That might kick-start my brain figuring out “what’s next?”. I’d love to be a writer, deciding my own work-hours and being able to take my writings to any place on the earth. Freedom.

I feel like I’ve developed a strong connection with poetry. Short poetry, mostly. Especially a late Danish poet, Michael Strunge. He made an incredible, short poem, that I feel attached to, which – admitted – frightens me a bit.

Nej, jeg vil ikke dø.
Jeg vil bare være ufødt.

(In english: “No, I don’t want to die. I just want to be unborn.”)  At the time when I first read this, I shared those same thoughts and it made quite a big impression on me. Hard to shake off.

But.. even though I’m in a rather depressing mood these days, I might end this post on a high note.

það besta sem guð hefur skapað
er nýr dagur

(Sigur Rós: “Viðrar Vel Til Loftárása”, in english: “The best thing God has created, is a new day”)

Leave a Reply

