Thoughtful.

I was thinking earlier – there was something I wanted to write here… you see the problem? I forgot what it was. So I’ll just talk pollywoppus until I eventually recall my thought from earlier.

Heard the new Joanna Newsom album (Have One On Me)? It’s… delicious, I’d say. Yes, delicious is the right word for this record. First hand, it might look and sound like something only music enthusiasts (you know, like those fanatic film makers who make insane movies that no one wants to go see, because they’re just that… weird, and yet receive full credit from all the reviewers) would find enjoyable – holding their glass of expensive Chardonnay wine in one hand, controlling the smoking of a fine cigar with the other, looking over the stack of Mozart and Beethoven. You look through the lyrics, that more or less present a book for each song. I’m telling you; 2,000 words a piece at the very least.

But here’s the trick: do something else than concentrating on the music the first time. The songs are just too long; it will become frustrating to sit and listen intensively to a 12 minute long, slow song. At least that first time. Because when you do that something else while letting the record have its way with your ears, you’ll gently be drawn into this masterpiece of an album – and that’s when you can invest more of yourself in it; you can enjoy it. And trust me, you will enjoy it.

At least I do.

I know you’ve all been anxiously awaiting this moment: girl talk.

Fine, let’s have it. The normal girl, the one from the “Iceland(ic)” post.. well.. I don’t really know what to say at the moment. We don’t talk that much right now. For what reason I don’t know. It’s been like this since.. pre-March. I’ve taken initiative a few times, but it hasn’t really led to much conversation, so that’s sort of stopped it for now. But I’m not too worried. The connection will come back during this month. In fact, if I’m not mistaken, we had an off-period at the same time last year. I still like her, but I think it’s more friend-ish now – that’s good. And I’ll tell you why.

I’m kind of having something going on with a girl living quite a bit nearer. We’ve been friends for years, but always had something else than just a regular friendship. We’ve seen each other more and more over the last year or so. We enjoy watching movies together, but the watching has turned more into a subordinate thing, while we have become more and more interested in each other.

At the moment, and for the last half year or so, she’s the only one who’s made me truly enjoy life. I’m all smiles when I spend time with her, and we just fit together so terrible that it ends up seeming like we’re actually an amazing fit. I think it’s that “extra” something, that makes us fit. I don’t like to overdo stuff, but I think – just think – this is what love is about. Fitting together, even though we might not even look the slightest bit alike.

Problem is, she’s always doing something. She has a ton of activities. Ballet, hundreds of instruments, a band, her school, volounteer-jobs, regular jobs and she travels a lot. Yes: it’s very hard to get a spot in her schedule. Both she and I try to be together as often as possible, but it’s only once every 2nd week – if we’re lucky. It’s tough love. But I’ll fight for it.

She makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

